Attainment Information

The Academic Performance Indicators being introduced by our Government are as follows:

  • 5 A* to C including English and Mathematics
  • A* to C in English and Mathematics
  • The English Baccalaureate (EBacc)
  • Attainment 8 and Progress 8

It is the last of these that forms the most radical change and is designed to encourage a broad and balanced curriculum. To achieve these, students are required to have a portfolio of studies divided into three “baskets”. English and Mathematics will be in the first of these; Sciences, Computer, Science and the other EBacc subjects from MFL and Humanities will be in the second grouping; all other allowable subjects will be in the third basket.

English and Mathematics will count as double. Three subjects will be drawn from the second basket.

Three subjects will also be included from the third basket.

Our school curriculum must, therefore, reflect this and it is a journey we have been taking this last two years. We shall continue to make adjustments to our curriculum to ensure our students are fully able to reflect their hard work and achievements within the context of a broad and balanced suite of qualifications.